• Study of the Expression and Function of Calcium-Sensing Receptor in Human Skeletal Muscle

      Romagnoli, Cecilia; orcid: 0000-0001-6615-5601; email: cecilia.romagnoli@unifi.it; Sharma, Preeti; email: preeti.sharma@unifi.it; Zonefrati, Roberto; email: roberto.zonefrati@unifi.it; Palmini, Gaia; orcid: 0000-0002-8376-7404; email: gaia.palmini@unifi.it; Lucattelli, Elena; orcid: 0000-0002-1501-8022; email: elena.lucattelli@gmail.com; Ward, Donald T.; email: d.ward@manchester.ac.uk; Ellinger, Isabella; orcid: 0000-0001-6335-076X; email: isabella.ellinger@meduniwien.ac.at; Innocenti, Marco; email: marco.innocenti@unifi.it; Brandi, Maria Luisa; orcid: 0000-0002-8741-0592; email: marialuisa.brandi@unifi.it (MDPI, 2021-07-06)
      Skeletal muscle has an outstanding capacity for regeneration in response to injuries, but there are disorders in which this process is seriously impaired, such as sarcopenia. Pharmacological treatments to restore muscle trophism are not available, therefore, the identification of suitable therapeutic targets that could be useful for the treatment of skeletal reduced myogenesis is highly desirable. In this in vitro study, we explored the expression and function of the calcium-sensing receptor (CaSR) in human skeletal muscle tissues and their derived satellite cells. The results obtained from analyses with various techniques of gene and protein CaSR expression and of its secondary messengers in response to calcium (Ca2+) and CaSR drugs have demonstrated that this receptor is not present in human skeletal muscle tissues, neither in the established satellite cells, nor during in vitro myogenic differentiation. Taken together, our data suggest that, although CaSR is a very important drug target in physiology and pathology, this receptor probably does not have any physiological role in skeletal muscle in normal conditions.