• Talent management and the HR function in cross-cultural mergers and acquisitions: The role and impact of bi-cultural identity

      Liu, Yipeng; email: Y.Liu@Henley.ac.uk; Vrontis, Demetris; email: vrontis.d@unic.ac.cy; Visser, Max; email: m.visser@fm.ru.nl; Stokes, Peter; email: peterstokesmail@gmail.com; Smith, Simon; email: simon.smith@winchester.ac.uk; Moore, Neil; email: n.moore@chester.ac.uk; Thrassou, Alkis; email: thrassou.a@unic.ac.cy; Ashta, Ashok
      Abstract This paper examines bi-cultural talent in relation to human resource management (HRM) practices in cross-cultural merger and acquisitions (M&A). The intersection of HRM, bi-cultural talent management and cross-cultural M&A literature proposes a conceptual framework to capture the complexity of bi-cultural talent management and reveals the dominant macro-characterization of the extant HRM literature focussing on a more micro-orientated perspective. The paper develops a matrix by underlining spatial dimensions (spanning micro-aspects of the individual employee through to the macro-entity of firm and its location in the macro-national cultural context) and temporal dimensions (consisting of pre-merger, during merger and post-merger phases). This provides a template which examines the multi-level dynamics of bi-cultural talent management. The argument identifies ways in which extant cross-cultural lenses require deeper understanding of bi-cultural talent management in M&A settings. Future research directions and agendas are identified.